He Argue, She Grumble, They Love Each Other

Noah: You’re bored Allie. You’re bored and you know it. You wouldn’t be here if there wasn’t something missing.
Allie: You arrogant son of a bitch.
Noah: Would you just stay with me?
Allie: Stay with you? What for? Look at us, we’re already fightin’
Noah: Well that’s what we do, we fight… You tell me when I am being an arrogant son of a bitch and I tell you when you are a pain in the ass. Which you are, 99% of the time. I’m not afraid to hurt your feelings. You have like a 2 second rebound rate, then you’re back doing the next pain-in-the-ass thing.
– The Notebook (2004)

For years, I had heard that The Notebook is the most romantic film and I have to watch it. Indeed, it is. But, when I saw the movie, I wonder how they -Noah&Allie- are crazy about each other yet they always fighting, almost everyday.

Last month, I met one couple that somehow reminds me of Noah and Allie. Their name is Ed and Vi. Ed is my very-big-boss, as I may say. He is one of the Board of Commisioner of this giant consumer products company where I worked. Last month, Ed was coming to Indonesia to attend Annual Shareholders Meeting, and he came with his wife.

I was assigned to accompany them during their visit *it was my 6th monthlyversary of work, btw 😎  They met me at the hotel lobby with their straw hats, loose T-shirt, sport shoes and sunglasses,  *anyway,  since this is a very big boss, I almost used my blazer, but then I changed my clothes to batik dress, black stocking/pantyhose, and heels. The fact: they are so ‘tourist’, imagine how awkward the situation was? 😳

Okay, from the first time I saw them, Vi was holding Ed’s arm all the way to our car. In the car, they discussed about what they want to buy as gift. When Ed was busy with his phone and didn’t response quickly, Vi grumbled and then Ed flirt with her, trying to be nice to her. Then both of them continued to discuss another topic, most of it led to another argue. It happened again and again, eventhough they were holding hands while windowshopping.

Courtesy : hunkydee | blogspot

Long story short, Vi was interested in antique jewelries: necklace, bracelet and ring. Since she carry no phone or wallet or any handbag, she asked the bankman, Ed..

Vi: Honey, what do you think?
Ed: You can buy one. You choose.
Vi: Really, just one only?
Ed: Yeah, don’t be greedy. Necklace.

Vi was trying to beg Ed. But he stood still. Then, Vi turned around and go see another jewelries. And in this one second after his wife left, Ed turned around to me and said:

You, save the bracelet and ring for me. Don’t sell it to anyone else. I will back for it later. –few seconds silence– ah, just buy it now, put in your bag, but don’t let her know about it!

Absolutely, if you were there, you don’t need to wait longer to hear me and two of the shop lady said “Aawww…” 😀 Yet, on the way back to hotel, they were arguing again.

When I was alone with Ed, on our way to office, he told me that he will give the bracelet and ring, on Mother’s Day the next Sunday. And he hope that she will love the surprise. Come on, how can’t she? 😀

Later that night, when I accompany Ed back after meeting at office, he called Vi at hotel.

Ed: Honey, I’m going back to hotel in few minutes, then we can have dinner.
Ed: What? You ate without me? Argh. How can you?
Ed: Hahahaha… *lol* Okay, okay.. Then, will you join me to watch me eat?

This time, I was ‘awww..’-ing without words, in my heart and twitter. 😳

Ed and Vi, have been married about 54 years. They surely become so honest with each other, so thoughtful, yet so romantic. They discuss about everything: house, jam, economy, politics, hotels, foods, etc. They tease each other. Ed introduce Vi to other commisioners and directors in the formal meeting, while Vi was in her jeans and sport shoes.

Real love is not about that cheesy stuffs. It’s about being honest and real, who we are and what are we thinking. It’s about accept our spouse completely and know that above all, love is the basis. Not abusement, not selfishness, not an act.
And yeah, I think those lines that I quoted from The Notebook Movie is sweet. 🙂

Allie: So what? 
Noah: So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s gonna be really hard. We’re gonna have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, for ever, you and me, every day…

Courtesy : forbetterandworse.com

© Jak – 050612 – 2237 ©

5 thoughts on “He Argue, She Grumble, They Love Each Other

  1. Nice… Is that really happen about vi and ed? Are they real? I really have a good read from ur writting. Ur english is very good.. Being real and honest are such difficult things.. But when u can do it with ur spouse.. Ur relationship will be ‘forever’. *i still learn that :p… Happy Wednesday vera..

    • I’m flattered that you read my blog, dear! :*
      Yeah, Ed & Vi and those things I said are real. 😀

      My favourite part about the post is the last part, Noah quote.Love needs work, darling. If Ed and Vi can do it for 54 years, you can do it too. My pray with you! xoxo

Leave Comment (s) :

